The Cancel Culture — Book Edition

Ure Ukefi
2 min readDec 13, 2020

I have heard the words “He/She is cancelled” thrown around more often this year than any other year. Urban Dictionary says that in pop culture, cancelled means to make someone or something irrelevant due to current drama. Merriam Webster says it means to stop giving support to that person.

A few hours ago, I cancelled a blunt self-help author, because I found that she is about as direct as anyone you could probably come across. The Goodreads’ recommendation of her book and reviews alike was all it took for me to decide that I was going to read her book this evening. I didn’t think she was blunt until I listened to the introductory chapter of her book. By the time I was wrapping up with the chapter, as a conservative, I quickly wrote her off.
Here is why: She was stating facts in a way I didn’t find comfortable. You could say that she was saying things I needed to listen to in a way I didn’t want to hear them. I paused and asked myself if I would still listen or read any other author who said same/similar things with little or no bluntness, and my answer was in the affirmative.
Then I started to question all the times I have had to “cancel” the thought process of an author merely because we disagree on particular issues such as religion, sex, relationship, money, etc., without really asking myself if there is something new I need to learn or unlearn as the case may be.
So here I am on this quiet Sunday night wondering if there is anyone who cancels the entirety of a person’s views owing to their thoughts on a particular issue or as in this case, their presentation of what we could both agree to be true.

Update: I am in the Seventh Chapter of the Book and I can’t seem to put it down.

XOXO.

--

--

Ure Ukefi

Sometimes it's the simple things - love, food, quiet, thoughtful gifts, family, good friends, God.